Wednesday, 29 June 2016

Review - Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield

Title: Paper Butterflies
Author: Lisa Heathfield
Pages: 320
Publisher: Electric Monkey
Release date: 30th June 2016

Blurb from Goodreads:
June's life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one – and a secret one. She is trapped like a butterfly in a net.

But then June meets Blister, a boy in the woods. In him she recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away from her home and be free. Because every creature in this world deserves their freedom . . . But at what price?

Paper Butterflies is an unforgettable read, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson, Sarah Crossan and Louise O'Neill.

My Review:
*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thanks to Egmont Publishing and NetGalley*

June's life is tough - her step-mother torments her and her classmates bully her.
Then June meets Blister at some abandoned caravans. The two instantly become friends and June has something to call her own, something that she'll have to keep secret.
Can June escape from her step-mother?
Will her father see what's happening?

Paper Butterflies was a heart-breaking, emotional read.
I liked June and felt really sorry for her - her life was so hard and she was constantly scared.
I enjoyed reading Blister and June's interactions; I was glad that she had somewhere she could escape to and someone that wasn't mean to her.
The plot was good and I found the scenes with Kathleen, June's step-mother, hard to read.
I liked the writing style and wanted to read on. I was surprised how quickly I read it - I was gripped and found myself skipping ahead to see what was going to happen.

Overall this was a heart-breaking read that I would recommend.